Joint Symposium

The International symposium on Multimedia, Data science & IoT
The 1st International symposium on Multimedia, Data science and IoT is the premier forum for presentation of research results and experience reports on leading edge issues of multimedia information retrieval, acquisition, visualization, and interaction including models, systems, applications, and theory. The theme for the symposium is “Transdisciplinary – Transmedia - Transformations” with a strong focus on research creation applications for multimedia, Big Data management, IoT, and on the knowledge mobilization and the practical exhibition of such endeavours.

The 1st International symposium on Multimedia, Data science, and IoT will be held in conjunction with 13th ACS/IEEE International Conference on Computer Systems and Applications (AICCSA' 2016) at Agadir, Morocco.

Topics of Interest

The aim of this symposium is to showcase and discuss fresh research and public engagement initiatives integral to all aforementioned fields with a focus on the following topics:

Multimedia indexing, search, retrieval and browsing on the Web 
Multimedia content analysis and understanding 
Multimedia communication, networking and mobility 
3D navigation and interfaces
3D imaging, visualization, animation, virtual reality 
Object recognition
Classification and clustering  
Image/video enhancement and  segmentation  
Pattern recognition     
Machine learning   
Data gathering and scheduling in WSN
Internet of Things architectures and protocols
Controlled mobility and QoS
Information Centric networks
Sensor networks protocols
Crowd-sensing systems

Foundational Models for Big Data

Computational Modeling for Big Data

Algorithms and Programming Techniques for Big Data Processing

Big Data Analytics and Metrics

Decision making in social and mobile network Big Data

Submissions Guidelines and PROCEEDINGS

Manuscripts should be prepared in 10-point font using the IEEE 8.5" x 11" two-column format. All papers should be in PDF format, and submitted electronically at Paper Submission Link. A full paper must not exceed the stated length (including all figures, tables and references). Submitted papers must present original unpublished research that is not currently under review for any other conference or journal. Papers not following these guidelines may be rejected without review. Also submissions received after the due date, exceeding length limit, or not appropriately structured may also not be considered. Authors may contact the Program Chair for further information or clarification.

All submissions are peer-reviewed by at least three reviewers. Accepted papers will appear in the Conference Proceedings, and be published by the IEEE Computer Society Conference Publishing Services and be submitted to IEEE Xplore for inclusion.

Submitted papers must include original work, and must not be under consideration for another conference or journal. Submission of regular papers must not exceed 8 pages and must follow the IEEE paper format. Please include up to 7 keywords, complete postal and e-mail address, and fax and phone numbers of the corresponding author. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their work at the conference. Submitted papers that are deemed of good quality but that could not be accepted as regular papers will be accepted as short papers. Length of short papers

Important Dates

Paper Submission Due Date: June 15, 2016 (firm deadline)

Notification to authors: August 15, 2016

Camera-ready papers due: September 7, 2016

Early registration due: October 2, 2016


Submission system

Special Issues

Selected papers from the conference will be invited to submit an extended version to the following journal. Papers will be selected based on their reviewers’ scores and appropriateness to the Journal’s theme. All extended versions will undergo reviews and must represent original unpublished research work. Further details will be made available at a later stage.

Organizing Committee

General co-Chairs:

- Genoveva Vargas-Solar, LIG, Grenoble, France
- Lotfi Ben Romdhane, ISITCom, Univ. of Sousse, Tunisia

Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs

- Prof. Rachida Dssouli, University of Concordia (Lead TPC Chair)
- Mohammed El Hassouni: University Mohammed V of Rabat, Morocco
- Youssef Ben Halima, RIADI, ISAMM, Univ. Manouba, Tunisia

Publication Chairs

- Youssif Al Nashif, Florida Polytechnic University, USA.
- Cihan Tunc, University of Arizona, USA.

Publicity Chairs

- Sultan Aljahdali, Taif University - Saudi Arabia
- Al-Sakib Khan Pathan, Islamic University in Madinah, Madinah al-Munawwarah, KSA.
- Koutti Lahcen, University Ibn Zohr, Agadir, Morocco
- Yaser Jaraweh, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan

Technical Program Committee Members

  • Abdellah Adib
  • Abdellah Boulouz
  • Abdellah Massaq
  • Abdelmalik Bachir
  • Abderrahim Saaidi
  • Abderrahmane Elyousfi
  • Adrianna Kozierkiewicz-Hetmańska
  • Ahmed Drissi El Maliani
  • Ahmed Fouad Elouafdi
  • Aladine Chetouani
  • Alaoui Rachid
  • Alexandre Meyer
  • Ali Jaoua
  • Al-Sakib Khan Pathan
  • Apollinaire Nadembega
  • Asma Mesmoudi
  • Ayoub Tamim
  • Ben Sassi Sihem
  • Boubakeur Boufama
  • Boukrouche Abdelhani
  • Brahim Aksasse
  • Brahim Alibouch
  • Brahim Elkhalil Chaouki
  • Chirine Ghedira Guegan
  • Enas Ahmad
  • Enrico Natalizio
  • Faouzi Boufarès
  • Fatima Zohra Benhamida
  • Fedwa Essannouni
  • Genoveva Vargas Solar
  • Georgios Bebis
  • Gerald Schaefer
  • Hamada Alshaer
  • Hanane Rami
  • Hedi Karray
  • Hocine Cherifi
  • Ibrahim Guelzim
  • Ikram Amous
  • Imed Bendhaou
  • Imed Romdhani
  • Issam Jabri
  • Jamali Abdellah
  • José Antonio Sáez
  • Jose-Luis Zechinelli-Martini
  • Juraj Machaj
  • Kadi Bouatouch
  • Khalid Belhajjame
  • Khouloud Boukadi
  • Koutti Lahcen
  • Krzysztof Wrobel
  • Lionel Bombrun
  • Mahmoud Al-Ayyoub
  • Malek Ghenima
  • M'Hamed Bakrim
  • Mohamed Amine Kafi
  • Mohamed Cherif Rahal
  • Mohamed El Ansari
  • Mohamed Nabil Saidi
  • Mohamed Sadgal
  • Mohammed El Hassouni
  • Mounir Omari
  • Mourad Benmalek
  • Muhammad Inamulhaq
  • Nadia Ghazzali
  • Natalya Shakhovska
  • Naveed Ahmed
  • Nawal Alioua
  • Othmane Alaoui-Fdili
  • Plácido Neto
  • Riadh Hajmtir
  • Roukhe Hassane
  • Ryma Boussaha
  • Said Oukacha
  • Salim Bouzerdoum
  • Salim Hariri
  • Samir Doudou
  • Siham Bouchelaghem
  • Stanimir Stoyanov
  • Stéphane Mousset
  • Terje Kristensen
  • Wahiba Ben Abdesselem
  • Walid Bechkit
  • Yacine Challal
  • Yannick Berthoumieu
  • Yaser Jararweh
  • Youssef Ben Halima